MRPP Week 2016

The annual Master of Research and Public Policy (MRPP) Week is here again! MRPP lecturers from the 12 partner universities will gather in Nairobi from August 8-10 to further sharpen their teaching skills. They will also review how the MRPP is being implemented in the different universities, with a view to identifying challenges and opportunities for strengthening the programme. Selected student representatives will also participate in the programme review process.

MRPP teaching staff

Some of the participants at the 2015 MRPP Week

The MRPP week consists of a series of activities which begin with a keynote address. This year’s keynote will highlight global practices and trends in security and how they relate to what is happening in Africa. This pertinent issue is covered in the course on Contemporary Issues in Public Policy in the MRPP curriculum. In addition, MRPP week participants will undertake a short course in policy engaged research, beginning with online engagement on the programme’s e-learning platform.MRPP students

Previous professional development activities for teaching staff have focused on deepening disciplinary knowledge of the 16 areas covered in the MRPP curriculum. Past workshops have concentrated on imparting essential knowledge, skills and practices for participatory learning using a range of innovative pedagogies such as e-cases, role plays, simulations, group work and problem-based learning.

This year, teaching staff will model evolving teaching practices through mock teaching sessions. They will also look at interactive instructional technologies. The objective is to inspire interest and build staff confidence in using interactive technology to teach the MRPP.

The MRPP Steering Committee will then meet on August 11 to share lessons learnt from 2015/2016 programme implementation and plan for the 2016/2017 programme roll out.

See more photos from 2015 MRPP week here –

MRPP launch

The MRPP was officially launched during the 2015 MRPP week. Pictured L-R: Mr Henry Rotich (Cabinet Secretary, Kenya’s National Treasury), Prof Tade Aina (Executive Director, PASGR), Dr Willy Mutunga (Former Chief Justice, Kenya), Prof Judith Bahemuka (Member, PASGR Board of Directors) and Hon Julius Kibiwott Melly (Deputy Chair, Departmental Committee on Education).